September 20, 2012

  • Exciting News!

    My girlfriend bought a car yesterday -- we've been looking at a Honda Accord for a short while that has...a fair amount of miles on it for the price. It has a few bumps and scratches but we just care that the engine is good and will last her a good while. The thing about the car is that she bought the car off one of her friends who has a side business of buying auctioned cars, fixing them up, and selling them for profit. To me, all of that seems sketchy because you never really know the condition of an auctioned vehicle, and some indications of future break downs are hard to tell. I just don't want her forking out money to fix the vehicle down the road and all hell breaks loose.

    That happened to my car -- it all seemed like a simple leak in the radiator, and my car has broke down many times these past two years. A Honda Accord doesn't usually just stall out. She bought the car rather quickly, but I understand her position and don't really blame her for it. She was really excited to tell me, and I haven't heard that excited on the phone in a while, so it made me smile. The important thing is that she's happy, and I'm happy as well. I won't have to worry so much about having us stranded because my car failed to cooperate, we'll start spending money on gas together, and I'll feel a lot more comfortable with her driving. I plan on selling my car soon as well because it would be nice to get a Honda Accord for 2,600 dollars with 130,000 miles. I'm certain I can sell my car for at LEAST 3,000 on craigslist or something because I almost did it before. I really need something more reliable, but I plan on borrowing some money later to buy a car and THEN sell the Firebird so I'll always have transportation.

    That's all in the future, though. Way down there.

    Things are looking up for the both of us. I got an appointment...I think...next week to get my US passport. Then, I'll be getting my Brazil visa to travel to Brazil in May. I know I haven't mentioned this yet because I didn't want to run the risk of my work finding out just yet because I plan on being gone for a whole month. I've never been out of the country before, and I haven't met her mom yet...and it's something that I gotta do before her and I get married. What better opportunity than now, you know? Despite the fact that my whole life seems like a vacation to most people, I need one. We went to Florida recently, but it was not like I anticipated. I also need a better job because I'm really starting to dislike working at Kroger. The store manager is an absolute bitch and really starting to piss me off. Of course, I don't want to run the risk of getting fired so I don't let her get to me. I almost did yesterday, and it's all making me realize that...it doesn't matter what I do. I had to listen to the fire alarm for about 5-7 minutes because the fire alarm in the meat department has been broken for a while and my co-worker accidentally bumped into it (without even knowing). The sound was so loud, I could feel the vibrations on my ears. It's made me realize that the safety of the employees is less important than the safety of customers and trying to make a profit. I can't say that I don't blame them, and I've always known that I don't really matter...but I really do try hard, and it seems that it's not worth it. 10 cent raises every 6 months doesn't add up. I'm not willing to work several years before I can make 8 bucks an hour. Worst case scenario is that I'd have to find a new job, which may prove to be difficult...but I really want to visit another country. Most importantly, I want to meet my girlfriend's family, spend time with them, play soccer, look at the stars, etc. It's going to be a really amazing time while my girlfriend, and I'm really looking forward to it. I also won't let anything stand in my way.

    In other news, I got a wart on my stomach that I've had for...maybe my whole life. I got some Dr. Scholls wart remover, and I've been applying this liquid for a couple days. A piece of outer layer skin fell off, exposing a deeper layer of skin...and it rubs up against my shirt causing pain. I know it's not exactly a fun description, but it hurts.

    I got off work at 1 yesterday, cut the grass, and did nothing else. I enjoyed the relaxation. Today I work from 3 to 8 PM, but I gotta go to school at 1. I'm gonna wake up early and study, because I have a feeling we're going to have a quiz in Spanish class and my quiz average pretty much sucks dick right now.

    Hmm...a while back, we went to the zoo. Her and I met up with my sister and her boyfriend, and afterwards we had pizza at this local place. Little Five Points is what the area is called...very popular in Georgia, and it was not like I expected. I didn't like the area too much.

    That's about it right now.