March 20, 2013

  • We'll See What Happens...

    On Monday morning, I saw some pretty bizarre shit on the highway headed towards downtown Atlanta. I was driving in the middle lane of the highway, what I tend to do, and there was a big rig about three seconds distance away from me on the far right lane. I didn't notice anything suspicious until I saw the big rig turn the steering wheel too fast like he was avoiding an obstacle on the road suddenly. Naturally, I released the gas pedal in case there'd be a sudden stop on the highway so I wouldn't have to slow down so much but realized everything was cool about a second afterwards when the driving collected himself. I kept my eye on him and I saw him drift off into the emergency lane, narrowly avoiding the bridge wall and I immediately noticed that his hood was open, water was gushing out, and sparks were flying everywhere. I thought the big rig was going to explode. I wasn't sure what the heck was going on -- a guy in a small truck pulled over from a short distance, and I was on my way to school.

    A couple distance away, I realized that I had my dashboard camera recording the whole time. To avoid any content writing over it, I decided to turn off the camera. Today was going to be the first time my camera recorded anything other than the normal driving routine. The whole time during Psychology class, I couldn't help but think about that video I recorded and was excited about taking it home, plugging it up the computer, and reviewing it. However, when I got home, the video where I had the incident with the big rig was black. There was no video. There was audio to it, but no video. The videos before that were fine recording and even after I recorded, but it was just that one that didn't record correctly. Even still, I put it on my computer in hopes that it would show on the computer and it didn't work.
    When I realized that it was all hopeless, I thought to myself..."well, that would happen."

    Sounds awfully similar to the experience I had many years ago when I was a kid. My sister had a friend who I really liked. My sister and her had the door locked, and I found out she was naked. Naturally, I wanted her to come out. Eventually she did, but as she opened the door, my eyes went blurry to the point that I had to wipe them. By the time I got rid of the blur in my eyes, the door was already closed. I missed my golden opportunity all because my eyes got blurred for that 5 seconds. And that 5 seconds would've made all the difference if I had just had a PEEK at that body, but I didn't get anything. It's something that I'll never forget. And it totally sucks ass.

    So I didn't get the video of the big rig, but you can imagine that it was definitely something to wake up to in the morning.

    Last Sunday, my girlfriend and I went out to a dinner and a movie. I wanted to take my girlfriend to TGIF's for steak along with a movie. The original plan was that we were going to see two movies, but TGIF's was going to take too long of a time so we decided to see a late night movie. It was almost a bad date because we got there super early and we sat down like a bunch of homeless people for a while before we decided to go outside and walk around. Then we sat in the car and talked. The movie started at 10:00 or something like that and we saw the new Oz movie. I gotta say that it was really good. Certain parts tugged at the heart strings a little bit, but I enjoyed it. We even saw a scene from Jurassic Park 3D and it was fucking amazing. That night, I had a nightmare about dinosaurs and I don't regret a thing.

    I'm still getting ready for Brazil. Tomorrow I plan on giving my letter and everything to my store manager so that she can send it into HR to get it approved. I just really hope that I'll have a job when I come back. But some good news though is that I think I found out what I want to do with my life: become a high school guidance counselor!

    I really thought about it one day and I think it's something that I would really like to do. It's something that I feel passionate about, about helping kids through an important part of their lives set themselves on the right track, and I just can't see myself doing anything else. Which is great because I've really narrowed it down. The problem is getting to that point. Apparently I need a masters, and I really don't know how I'm going to stand another 100,000 years in school. I may not be working till I'm 31 years old at this point. I don't know how my sister did it so fast. But hey...at least I got a dream now and understanding of what I want to become, right?

    Well, my birthday is in 4 days. It's on a Sunday, but I don't know if my family is going to celebrate it this weekend or not. I know nothing about it. I'll be 23...can you believe that? Ridiculous.