October 8, 2012

  • Last Weekend...

    A rant is below; if you would rather not read the rant, avoid reading between the horizontal lines.

    ---------------------------------------

    I had a rough night last night; mostly because Kathleen and I didn't go to sleep till 12 or so, and I had to wake up at 4:30 AM because I worked at 6. I wasn't thrilled about it, of course, considering I had to wake up super early, but that's how it goes. Sometimes you gotta do things you don't want to do. Well, I woke up at 4:30 AM with a cold sweat, a cold, dizzy, and a little bit sick. I managed to get out of bed, stood for a second, went to the bathroom, and was having doubts. I didn't feel safe driving because I felt like I was going to pass out. I called my work around 5:30 AM and was told that there wasn't a manager in the store till later on, and then I called again at 6 AM to see if anyone else was working in the department. Nope. It was supposedly just me working the department; ever since the new schedule system has been out, the possibility of only one person opening the department up increases by a huge amount because the automatic system doesn't give a shit. For all it cares, two people could work the entire department (one in the morning and one at night). Since I called in sick and I was the only one opening the department, that left the department unattained; "falling behind," my store manager told me on the phone. It used to be that if you called in sick, one person would be opening the department still unless you BOTH called in sick. Now it takes the ability of someone calling in sick without getting on someone's bad side because the store is counting on you. I would've, but I got sick. I sure as hell wasn't going to drive 40 minutes in my condition to work my ass off. My store manager told me that she was going to write me up but considering the fact that I was sick, I had more important things to worry about. I'm leaving that fucking job in May anyways (probably) because the store manager is a bitch and it's just not worth the hassle at 7.45 an hour. If I have to, I'll try and find something better. I've developed three canker sores in my mouth from the amount of stress I've been having, and I really don't want to deal with it. Until then, I'll deal with what I have to.

    ---------------------------------------

    This weekend was pretty productive. On Friday, Kathleen and I drove to get her driver's license. I wasn't sure what to expect. On one hand, my girlfriend is very adaptable...I think is a good word. She's a quick learner, and she's very intelligent. On the other hand, she hasn't had a lot of experience driving in different scenarios. It's not so much her driving, but it's how she operates. If you talked to her, she could become oblivious to the red light coming up. She cares a lot about what other people think, and I was nervous that she'd be intimidated by the driving instructor. Physically, I think she was ready; mentally, I wasn't sure. It turns out that she did really well on it. Got a 90.

    On Saturday, Kathleen and I went to the science museum. My favorite part was the planetarium. When Kathleen said that the stars look exactly like they do in Brazil, I was really excited. Being able to see all those stars at night would be an awesome moment for me. 

    On Sunday, we had a birthday party for my aunts, uncle, and my dad. I got my dad a Kindle cover for his birthday, my grandmother got him a kindle, and my sister got him a 25 dollar gift card. Sounds like a good birthday to me! We had chicken thighs, potatoes, green beans, biscuits, etc.

    Good times.