October 29, 2012

  • Almost November...

    It's been a pretty long time since I've lasted posted, so I figured I'd update my blog. I got work in almost 6 hours, but I'm still at Kathleen's place right now. I know that it would be easier for me if I left Sunday night so I wouldn't have to wake up so early on Monday morning, but I really can't resist staying another night and snuggling with my girlfriend. It really hurts to kiss her good-bye super early in the morning and know that when she wakes up...I won't be near her. I try to stay with her as much as possible but sometimes I really can't. I'm working 37 hours this week, more than usual, so it's going to be a long week. I just spent over 300 dollars to fix my car because the wiring on the alternator went bad along with a light in the dashboard -- now I'm back down to almost double digits. I'm able to save money, but I'm never able to save it for long because something always comes up. I was considering on buying a different Kindle with the built in light for 119, but something has been holding me back. I knew that if I was going to buy something, I'd regret it when my car would break down and I'd have to borrow money. I actually borrowed some of my dad's money because I was afraid I wasn't going to have enough for the weekend. My girlfriend and I like to do things sometimes -- we don't usually like to cook because cooking requires patience. Yesterday we went to a Vietnamese restaurant, and the bill ended up 20 dollars. Just recently, I've been real cautious about my money because I never realized that I'd have to work 3 hours just to pay off a restaurant bill. Working at Kroger for that amount of time, I"d be better off mowing lawns. It's embarrassing how I've kept myself to such low standards in the job market, that all I have to show on my record is that I've worked at Kroger for a long ass time and was able to remain an associate.

    Enough about that, though.

    Last weekend was kind of a different experience for me because it was the first time that I've ever even gotten close to drunk. Kathleen and I went to one of her friend's boyfriend's birthday party. There were a lot of jello shots that I was able to handle, so I kind of got used to the taste of small amounts of alcohol. I had 4-5 shots, but I never got close to being drunk. Then again, I don't know what drunk is supposed to feel like. I was pretty proud of myself because I was finally able to fit into that kind of environment without feeling anger or anything like that. My girlfriend and I had an argument, probably a week before the party, and it concluded on me making a promise to myself to at least try to fit in. When I actually got there, there was another guy who was similar to me...didn't like the taste of alcohol, mostly liked Coke, etc. However, he attends parties like that...and it was kind of a wake-up call for me to be a little bit more open-minded. Of course, I knew almost everyone at the party, and it was a small amount of people, so it was the perfect opportunity for me to try new things out. It turns out that I had more fun than I expected. I knew the people, I knew that my girlfriend was safe, and that there were people who could perform CPR and whatnot (including myself), so it was the ideal environment for me. There probably isn't going to be another environment that I'm really willing to embrace. I still think drinking alcohol specifically to get drunk is stupid, and I still think drinking with people you don't know is stupid, don't get me wrong. I haven't turned completely around and probably I'm not going to, but at least I can understand my girlfriend when she wants to have a girl's night out...provided that she's not around people who are going to try and take advantage of her or anything like that. I know my own gender. I know that people are corrupt and can take advantage of other people in a heart beat. But I'd like to believe that I'm making some progress. Would I drink again? If I know 90% of the people there, then I might. Who knows?
     
    In other news, my girlfriend and I have been officially going out for a year and a half. It definitely feels like more than that considering it's almost another year, but I'll take it for whatever it's worth.

    Also, I bought a drinking glass at Dollar tree that is shaped just like a coca-cola can. It looks almost exactly like the coca-cola can, and even fits the same amount of Coke in the glass. The only difference is that it's slightly smaller than the can. Best dollar I've ever spent, and it's going straight into my collection. By the time I'm much older, I'm going to have so much cool shit collected. I used to collect just model cars, but now I collect anything that I find meaningful. Not surprisingly enough, a lot of that content is related to Kathleen...movie tickets, cologne, etc etc.
     
    Uh...I bought a mini fire extinguisher for my car. I've always wanted one because...well, let's face it...my car is pretty unpredictable. Cars are unpredictable, really. One day, I hope to have a trunk with a fire extinguisher, a full gas tank, a couple gallons of anti-freeze, several quarts of oil, and a first aid kid. Believe it or not, I've got everything but a full gas tank, and quarts of oil. YOu know...just in case. You never know until it happens to you...

Comments (2)

  • I have to agree with you on the drinking part. I have been doing that for a show. Then I started doing it because I wanted to fit in. Then I started doing it because I was pissed off. But as of the last few drinks I have had, I couldn't hold it and puke my guts out. It was embarrassing and I am never gonna want to do it again. I also realized I am not a big fan of DRINKING, either. They aren't that great of a taste, anyways. You do need to find the right kind that gets you. But again, I guess I don't want to fall into the idea of becoming an AA. Thank you, but no thanks.
    " and a first aid kid. " Dude, check your spelling. LOL. I thought you do meant a first kid. then I realized you said AID... you meant FIRST AID KIT.... ^,^

  • @Kampj - 

    It's not my thing. It's fun to drink socially with people that you know, I guess, but everything beyond that is pretty pointless. If I'm gonna feel like shit, I'm not gonna sit on my ass and drink till I puke...instead, I'd rather hit some weights.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment