June 28, 2013

  • Favorite Watch Broke

    My favorite watch broke today. I bought the G-Shock watch three years ago and I've never had a problem with it. I originally bought it because I was feeling proud of myself and wanted to give myself a gift that I normally wouldn't buy. In a way, the watch was always there for me. However, my girlfriend and I went swimming today and water managed to get inside (don't ask me how) and pretty much damaged all the components inside of it. Tomorrow I'll be sending it in to see if it's worth the repairs; I'm guessing it's gonna be the price of a new watch since the price range to repair the watch is going to be between 10 dollars to 150 dollars. If it's 150 dollars, I'm pretty sure they're just going to replace it with a new one. If I can repair it at a decent price, I'll do it because that watch has been through a lot. I'm just really disappointed in how it happened; getting water inside was the last thing that I expected to happen. I expected the battery to run out (despite it being solar powered) before anything else. After all, it was water resistant to 20 bar and I've never went below 10 feet. Took showers with it and all kinds of stuff but not scuba dive or whatever. I'm gonna send it in and hope for the best but I seriously doubt they're going to give me good news. It's a shame that their product (which they claim to be "unbreakable") only has a 1 year warranty. If you buy something that claims to be something big and it only has a 1 year warranty, I would seriously doubt it. If you claim something to be unbreakable, then you should offer a lifetime warranty to back yourself up in case it is proven to be false.

    Today has been a decent day, but I'm really upset that my watch doesn't work. Just thought I'd let you know that I'm upset, even if it's a seemingly small and insignificant thing. But it means a lot to me...so...